IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Participating vs. Racing

Leave a comment

Typical Conversation with Triathlete Friends:

Me: Are you racing the Monte Rio Olympic?

Tri Friend: “I’m participating!”

Participating vs. Racing – why do we make such a clear distinction?  It’s a signal to whether we feel we’ve trained enough, what our goals are, and how we think we measure up to the competition.  Sometimes a race is just for fun – an excuse to hang out with friends.  Other times, you’ve been training hard and want to push it. For years, I’ve been in the “participating” camp.   Next week at IMLP, I will be racing.

I’m planning to race against myself.  Can I beat the younger, yet rather inexperienced, version of me who participated in the 2008 race?  Have I honed in on that competitive spirit a little more?  Can I hold that edge, and even push it a little more?

I put forth some goals at the start of this training season and asked you to help keep me accountable.  Thanks to a great group of friends (Ironminxes!), I think I’ve done the work on the bike and run.  

So, here’s the comparison to watch on race day – Sunday, July 28th

Sara @IMLP 2008 Sara’s Goals @IMLP 2013
Swim 1:06:00 1:10:00
Bike 7:13:47 6:45:00
Run 5:17:46 4:55:00
Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

Leave a Reply

