IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

It’s about the Community

Leave a comment

“Triathlon is so selfish”

I recently overheard that from a friend, and couldn’t disagree more.  Through triathlon, I’ve built an incredible network of friends that stretches coast to coast.  Through triathlon, co-workers have been inspired to start running and racing.  Through triathlon, my family  – including my 65 year old father – has become more active, cycling and running.  I would never have raced a 5k in Michigan with my brother or completed a sprint triathlon and a bike race with my father, had it not been for triathlon.

Triathlon is about community.

It’s building a network of friends who can work together to achieve a common goal – whether it’s completing their first race or doing the next Ironman even faster than the last.  It’s about encouraging your friends who are passionate about one sport to share that with you – “why yes, I’d love to run with you after work on Tuesdays or meet you at the pool on Wednesday mornings.”  Sure, you may miss out on a few things because you wanted to go for a long ride or run one weekend.  I certainly missed some birthday parties and bridal showers. Balance does come eventually – and you learn when to forgo training vs friends/family/work.

My Ironman training community in 2011 was a little fragmented, and to be honest, it wasn’t as fun.  That’s why I’m looking forward to 2013 and having the crew back together again.  From regular email check ins with the RA3 guys to a training weekend in LP with DC Tri to race weekend itself with my entire family and closest friends (the housing is booked!), these connections are going to keep me motivated and excited on the journey to IMLP.

 

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

Leave a Reply

