IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

It’s a Small World After IM

1 Comment

I already knew it was a small community of athletes going into this IM race.  There are at least 30 people I know from the Bay Area (Golden Gate Tri Club, SF Tri and M2 ) racing and my DC crew is here too (Colin, Jim, Eric and Tom).  But, what are the chances that at the athlete dinner tonight, I find myself sitting across the table from the same man I sat across the table from at the IM Wisconsin 2009 athlete dinner?

I wasn’t sure until all my questions were answered:

Did you race IM Moo 2009? Check.

Have you done 10-12 IM races? Yes, this is 14.

Are you from Mexico? Yes, Mexico City.

 

Turns out my friend Tom recognized him too.  Out of 2,800 athletes, what are the chances?

 

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

One thought on “It’s a Small World After IM

  1. BTW also impressed with the level of detail you remembered about this person!!!! Very impressive!

Leave a Reply

