IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Product Review: DeSoto 400 mile short

1 Comment

I have been in dire need of a new pair of cycling and/or tri shorts for a few weeks.  With my longest ride to date scheduled for this past Saturday, I figured it was finally about time I made my way to Sports Basement to find a new pair of shorts. It seems I’m not the only Ironman athlete who finds gear shopping an acceptable way to spend a Friday night.  I bumped into two other IM Canada folks at the store.

I may have tried on every pair of shorts in the tri department.  Zoots have an awful leg seam and rough edge on the padding. TYR shorts have a ridiculous design that makes it look like I put a leotard over my bike shorts.  Sugoi were cut very small.  And just when it seemed like I would suffer the same fate as Goldilocks, I found the shorts that were just right!  De Soto 400 mile is it.

Why I like them:De Soto shorts

  • The padding actually extends into the legs a little which helps provide more coverage and protection against your bike seat
  • While a cycling short first, it can actually be used in triathlons
  • The pad actually floats and stretches – you can feel it move with you as your position changes from climbing a hill to being in aero
  • It has a great back pocket

I was a little worried that the shorts were a little sheer, but friends assured me they were ok.  I wore them for the Marin Century on Saturday and had no complaints.  I think I found a winner for Ironman Canada!

I did add one more item to the wish list once I found the shorts (thanks to talking to the other IM athletes).  It’s a rather unusual piece of gear, but I covet an M-dot diamond necklace.  That may be my first post-race purchase!  I may “owe it to myself” when I complete this third Ironman.

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

One thought on “Product Review: DeSoto 400 mile short

  1. Awesome!!!!! Didn’t know you got the M-dot finally! Very cool. You do owe it to yourself – I’m sure I know someone else who would agree. 🙂 😀

Leave a Reply

