IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Ironlife

1 Comment

I’m trying desperately this year to make sure Ironman training does not become my whole life.  I remember my first year of Ironman training, I felt like I didn’t even have time to clean my house.  Somehow this year, I seem to not only have more time for the basics, but also all the other adventures that make life grand.  This weekend was case in point.

It’s Sunday night and my house is clean and laundry is almost done.  Even better, I camped out along the Russian River last night with some good friends and spent t0day slowly paddling 10 miles down the river.  Oh, did I mention I ran 2 1/2 hours before we left for the canoe trip?

I think the only way to have more time is to use what you have more efficiently.  So, I ran early this morning down the side of California Rt 116 (more like a country highway) – not the prettiest route, no other runners, but I had time to spend with some dear friends.  And, when I returned to the city this evening with my stomach growling, I took advantage of my walk home to stop in to Bistro Aix, sit at the bar, and have one of the tastiest burgers in town.  Sure it would have been nice to eat with friends or go to the grocery, but I had to take advantage of the time and location.

This past month, I’ve been camping twice, gone paddling twice, gone rock climbing, traveled to NY and DC, launched the Organ Donor 4 Life campaign and raced with my dad.  Maybe, just maybe, I am learning how to lead an Ironman lifestyle, and not let Ironman lead my life.

 

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

One thought on “Ironlife

  1. I’m not sure if it is coincidence that I found your blog (ironwoman.com genius!) as I’m searching for a reason NOT to do my first full ironman (CDA 2012). I haven’t found a reason yet and am itching to click the registration button but haven’t pulled the trigger! I have marked your blog and look forward to reading through some of your ironman posts!
    Molly

Leave a Reply

