IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

To the Lighthouse

Leave a comment

In honor of today’s training ride from San Rafael to the Pt. Reyes Lighthouse and back, I thought I would share a few quotes from one of my favorite books with a very fitting title – “To The Lighthouse” by Virginia Woolf.

The sea tosses itself and breaks itself, and should any sleeper fancying that he might on the beach find an answer to his doubts, a sharer of his solitude, throw off his bedclothes and go down by himself to walk on the sand, no image with semblance of serving and divine promptitude comes readily to hand bringing the night to order and making the world reflect the compass of the soul.”

Like the restless sleeper mentioned above, I started the ride today in a funk.  And, the overcast skies certainly didn’t help. The fog broke on our 40 miles back from the lighthouse.  And with the sunshine came a little reassurance for me about how great it is to have shared my Ironman training from coast to coast with such great friends.  I rode with Rachel and Ann today, two other East Coast transplants, both of whom shared bits of my training for IMLP (Rachel and I lived in DC) or IM Wisconsin (Ann and I lived in Boston).

83 miles done – and gratitude for great friends.

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

Leave a Reply

