IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Trans Tahoe Swim Relay – Race Report

2 Comments

Life unexpected. Lake Tahoe

You would think that when you sign up for an Ironman race a year in advance, it would be pretty clear what your training and race schedule would look like for the remainder of the year until said race.  Somehow, this has not been the case for me this year.  In fact, my race schedule seems to be playing out more like a case of what my niece would call “let’s play opposites.”  I signed up for Wildflower, but didn’t race thanks to a stress fracture in my fibula.  And the Trans Tahoe Relay, I wasn’t even supposed to be in the bay area during this time, I thought I would be in India for work.  But, plans change, work shifts, other people’s plans change…and suddenly, you find yourself on a boat at 6 am with 5 other swimmers getting ready to swim 12 miles across Lake Tahoe. 

It was an absolutely beautiful day.  The water was just warm enough for the wetsuit free swim (in the low 60’s).  It was sunny and warm on the boat with little wind. We dropped off our first swimmer at Sand Harbor at 7:30.  Finding him proved much more difficult than we expected, but about 10 minutes after his leg was supposed to be done, we did.  The swim broke down as follows: 30 minutes for each of the 6 swimmers, then 20 minutes, then 10 minutes each until we reached the end.   Six hours later and almost a full 3 full rotations through the swimmer line up, we reached the other side of the lake. 

Despite being part fish by upbringing, I did not expect to enjoy the swim as much as I did.  If I’m around Tahoe this time next year, I think you can count me in for this swim again.  Sara swimming Lake Tahoe

Trans Tahoe Team

Team Thin Air

 
Sara synchronized swimming

Maybe synchro moves are not the fastest for crossing the lake?

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

2 thoughts on “Trans Tahoe Swim Relay – Race Report

  1. I love the synchro moves – and good attitude to Trans Tahoe and life unexpected in general. I think that is what gets you over the finish line at IM – being able to deal (well) with the unexpected.

  2. Oops, that comment is from me…Rachel W!

Leave a Reply

