IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

IMOO – being a spectator from afar

2 Comments

Tomorrow your fearless Ironwoman, my best friend Sara, will embark upon her second Ironman. Those of you who follow this blog know that her first Ironman was July 20, 2008 in Lake Placid.

Today, she is in Madison, WI preparing to rock the IMOO tomorrow.

Unfortunately, I am not there. I could not make the trip out to Madison to cheer from the actual sidelines this year, so I will have to do so from further sidelines – my computer in Manhattan. I’ve very honored to have this role as enthusiastic best friend/fan/guest blogger, and will do my best to keep you all updated.

If you’ll recall, last year the members of Team Stropedogg sported matching yellow shirts in support of our favorite Ironwoman. This year, the team is sporting green tees. Do they look familiar at all?

IMG_5264

IMG_5265

They’re designed after the blog! I told Sara that she’s branded herself. Sara’s parents came through again this year providing the team shirts, even sending one to me and Andrew to wear on race day (thanks again!!!)

IMG_5263

Don’t they look great?

Now for those of you who don’t know me, I myself am not a triathlete. Strangely though, that hasn’t made me feel distanced, or any less enthusiastic. Thanks to Sara, I have learned so much about the sport; I understand and can anticipate some of her training needs and challenges, and get excited to see her tackle each one with the drive, energy, and enthusiasm that is uniquely Sara.

Knowing I wouldn’t be able to make it this year, I sent a little Ironman care package a few weeks before the race. It contained some things I know she loves: a box of vanilla GU shots, several assorted shot blocks for training, and some other goods like a USB mix-tape, fun spherical lip balm, and the fun nail polishes that Sara referenced in an earlier post.

A side-note here – know your triathlete’s preferences when it comes to their training/recovery type things. While I’m sure Sara would have appreciated anything I sent, I know just how much she loves vanilla GU, and that she does enjoy the occasional shot block. It also didn’t hurt that she was just nearly out of all her GU. Various other mini recovery drink mixes, snacks, and cute running socks beckoned me, but I decided to pass on them. Seasoned athletes know what works best for them, so don’t be afraid to ask!

And remember – even though someone you know may have swam, biked, and run their way through 140.6 miles before, each course and each year is different. I guess in some way that is part of the draw – there’s always a new challenge ahead, a new opportunity to learn a little more about yourself and your upper limits, even if you’ve done the same course before… and especially if you haven’t.

Tomorrow I’ll be in touch with Sara’s parents and Beth as they cheer her on in Madison.  I’ll also be tracking along with the rest of you, and posting some updates here on race day. Get excited!! The forecast in Madison tomorrow is sunny, with a low of 50 and a high of 83. If the weather in NYC turns around like it should, I may even take a short bike ride of my own while Sara is on the bike course. 🙂

Good luck, Sara!!! We’ll be watching!

2 thoughts on “IMOO – being a spectator from afar

  1. Thanks Mona! Oh, turns out, my parent’s dog Serendipity likes Cliff Shot Blocks too. She got into my race bags last night and helped herself to a package! She then promptly fell asleep – so much for that energy burst. I guess I’ll stick to the vanilla gu!

Leave a Reply

