IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

To Race or Not to Race in 2010

5 Comments

Just a few short weeks ago, I promised not to sign up for the Ironman Lake Placid 2010.  I resisted signing up for the race despite the fact Colin, Tom and Eric all did.  I resisted, even though I volunteered for the race this year and would have had a preference for a spot for next year.

But over the last two weeks, I started to wonder what I would do with myself if I was not training for an Ironman…

Then, I read these very inspiring and influential articles from Chrissie Wellington, the two-time Ironman World Champion and world record holder and CNN about heart transplant recipient triathlete Kyle Garlett.

Then, I asked my dad if he wanted to train and race with me – to celebrate his 15 year anniversary of his heart transplant…

AND DAD SAID YES!

We’re still working out the details (Ironman or another race in upstate NY, training, fundraising for organ transplants, checking with his docs, etc), but it’s much more of a possibility that I will indeed be doing another Ironman.  Stay tuned!

Mom and Dad at IMLP 2008

Mom and Dad at IMLP 2008

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

5 thoughts on “To Race or Not to Race in 2010

  1. Someone is checking out the old 27 inch ten speed bike left behind at the house. Could this be the first step on the road to training for IMLP 2010???

  2. Sounds like it! The bike path is close – just be sure to get Dad a helmet!

  3. You may have to make room at your parent’s house in the basement to set up a trainer for the winter for your Dad… Sounds like a fun idea.

  4. Wow, that’s exciting! Like father, like daugher, right?

  5. Woo hoo!!!! Go Stropes!

Leave a Reply

