IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

IMLP 2009

1 Comment

Congrats to all my friends who completed the Lake Placid Ironman this past Sunday: Angela, Julie, AJ, Kimberly, Joe, Kevin, Kip, Matt F, Matt C, and Chris!  It was a great day for a race – a little rain during the swim, then sunshine and a good breeze through the night.  Frankly, I was a little jealous given last year’s nonstop rain. 

Here’s a quick recap of my Training/Cheering  Weekend at Lake Placid:

  • Friday: Biked 85 miles with my IM Moo training buddies, then cooked a pre-race feast for the house and their families!
  • Saturday: 10 mile run (no right quad issues – yay!), 2.4 mile swim, dinner with Julie’s family, and enough beer and ice cream with the guys – along with some poster making
  • Sunday: RACE DAY!  While I didn’t race, I definitely wore myself out!  Here’s how:
    • 4:45 am Wake Up Call – Headed down to body marking and swim start with the girls. 
    • 7:00 am: Swim Start!  Cheered from everyone as they exited the water and ran to get their bikes
    • 8:35 am: Bike Course – Everyone out on their first 56 mile loop and my chance for a little b-fast and rest
    • 11:30 am-4:30 pm: VOLUNTEER – I helped set up the last water stop on the run course.  It was a lot of work, but a great spot to be!  I saw most of my friends finish their last loop on the bike course AND I got to hand out water to all the pros!
    • 4:30 pm – Midnight: CHEER! CHEER!  CHEER!  I kept meaning to go back to the house, but I always saw another friend runing.  I made it home to grab some warmer clothes, but then I was back on the course with signs for DC, Boston, and anyone in the Hurt Locker.   
    • Midnight: Totally amazing to watch Matt Long, the Everyday Hero of the race, come across the finish line with less than a minute to spare before the race cutoff.  The entire olympic oval was screaming, jumping, and applauding as the race announcer said, “Matt Long of NYC, you are an IRONMAN!” 
AJ, Angela, Kevin, Julie, Kip, and Joe post race

AJ, Angela, Kevin, Julie, Kip, and Joe post race

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

One thought on “IMLP 2009

  1. Sounds like a blast. I’m jealous of YOU. I have to start planning a trip up there next year, even if it is just to spectate or volunteer.

Leave a Reply

