IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

My Ironman Lake Placid Pledge

5 Comments

At the 2009 Ford Ironman Lake Placid, I pledge to:

  • Cook a great pre-race meals for my housemates
  • Cheer as loudly as possible for my friends from DC: Kimberly, Angela, AJ, Julie, Matt and Joe…AND for my new Boston friends: Matt and Chris
  • Be a great volunteer at the last water station on the run course
  • Stay at the Finish Line until midnight
  • Live up to my IM nickname of IM Maple and only eat at restaurants serving REAL maple syrup
  • Train for IM Wisconsin
  • NOT SIGN UP FOR IMLP 2010!
Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

5 thoughts on “My Ironman Lake Placid Pledge

  1. As a new roomy to the IM house, I have to say the meal was GREAT! But how o earth can you come to LP, Volunteer, Do a wonderful job of cooking, cheering, etc and not sign up for 2010? We need you to. Besides, after riding a full loop of the bike with you, I know you’d be great. And what better way to qualify to Kona?!?

  2. pledge to not bring any dolls in various state of undress to the LP house next year for the race and pledge not to tell anyone that you secretly signed up for 2010! woohoo!!!! awesome meal….strange doll.

  3. Ok, you need to swim a loop in the lake and an extra loop for me (since I can’t swim). You need to drink a beer at the Lake Placid Brewery. Saturday you need to walk across the finish line for fun. Get a sandwich from the place with a sandwich named after each of the 46 peaks. Need to buy some more IM crap from the ironman store (can’t have too much). Watch the swim start. Have some fun….

  4. Have fun out there. Just hide your credit card!

  5. I have to say I’m wondering about the strange doll…

Leave a Reply

