IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Scott Plasma = Confidence

5 Comments

My new tri bike!

My new tri bike!

I bought a new bike this weekend – the Scott Plasma 20!  It’s a fantastic carbon frame with a mix of Shimano Ultegra and 105 components.  I put my Easton EA 90 TT wheels on it.  Went for a nice 35 mile ride this morning – and felt strong, confident and fast.  And, my legs felt great on my run afterwards!  Mooseman, Cranberry Trifest and IM Moo – here I come!

If you’re looking for a bike in the Boston area, I highly recommend Quad Multisport in Arlington.  I knew I was in the right place when I found out that Marco  and I grew up not only in the same town, but on the same street.  And, one of the other customers in the shop is my current neighbor.  Talk about good community and good vibes!  In all seriousness though, Marco and Tom are knowledgeable, patient, honest and listen to your needs.  I went to some other shops where they spent lots of time (and money) on the fit, but didn’t let you ride the bikes.  I think I spent about 6 hours at Quad on Sat – test rode three bikes and couldn’t be happier with the one I chose.

Now, according to my pal Matt, the new bike needs a name.  Any suggestions?  “The comeback kid” comes to mind right now.

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

5 thoughts on “Scott Plasma = Confidence

  1. OHHHHHH I love her!!! Yes, I think your bike is a she. Because she’s tough, and so are you!
    Of course he could be a rugged “he” too. Darn.

    Well the gender is your choice. I looooooove it! Congrats on your first tri bike!!!!! Now you’re equipped to hit the road again! 🙂

    I like the comeback kid! CK for short? I thought about willie nelson’s “On the road again” but then I realized it’d be weird to call your bike willie.

    OOOH! Or you could call your bike Rocky. Like rocky balboa. No?
    Hmmmm.

  2. I like CK for the Comeback Kid…that could work. Thanks Mona! I’m wondering what Matt “I’m in the Hurt Locker” Ferguson will have to say. Matt?

  3. So I just got back from my long run and did some thinking on naming the new rig…

    “The Comeback Kid”… love the theme (getting back in the fight post-wreck), also like “CK” or “The Kid” for short. Then I thought of others nicknamed “The Comeback Kid”… former president Bill Clinton & Joe Montana… but the thought of you riding crusty old dudes made me laugh.

    Then the suggested Rocky theme stuck with me for a few miles. Rocky (obvious), Ivan “I must break you” Drago, Clubber “I pitty the fool” Lang, Tommy Gunn, Paulie, Mick, only female name I could think of was “Yo Adrian”. Then I remembered Apollo Creed. I liked the name Apollo… but that turned my thoughts to greek mythology for the next few miles…

    Pegasus was a white winged horse… your new rig is mostly white and will no doubt carry you swiftly down whichever roads you travel. Other goddesses I could think of: Hera, Athena.

    Cleared my head of all that… and then the song “I get knocked down… but I get up again” popped into my head. Chumbawamba was the one-hit-wonder who sung that one… but doubt you’d want to name your pretty new bike Chumbawamba LOL

    Then my run ended. Probably not much help but that’s all I’ve got for now. So now you have insight into the random thoughts that bounce around in my head during long boring runs 🙂

  4. I’m thinking Balboa, (Comeback kid) CK, the Kid, or if we’re sticking with mythology… how about Aphrodite?

    Zeus?

    Let’s NOT go with Achilles.

    You could name your bike the flash?

  5. Thanks for the suggestions! Love the stream of consciousness too Matt. I like Balboa, CK, Pegasus…I think we’re getting close. A few others have promised to weigh in soon.

Leave a Reply

