IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Winter Racing

Leave a comment

I made my way out to Hyannis for the Hyannis Marathon, Half Marathon and 10k this weekend.  It was great to bring together my good Boston friends, old DC buddies and new tri team folks.  But, our pre-race trash talk/laundry list of ailments and results taught me the following lessons on how to pick out the sandbagger in the group.

We know you’re a sandbagger if:

  • You claim you have barely trained, yet ran a 10k on a tiny indoor track a week before a race
  • You “don’t train,” but still meet your running buddies twice a week for your usual run
  • You consider bailing on the race just beacuse you’re nervous about how you’ll do
  • You never actually cough or limp in the days leading up to the race

It was a great race, despite a wintry mix of weather.  I definitely recommend it to anyone in the Boston (or DC) area.  How often do you get to run by a lighthouse?

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

Leave a Reply

