IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

My “first” Marathon

Leave a comment

Post-race bliss

I finished my first pure marathon this weekend – the Phoenix Rock’n’Roll Marathon.  Total time: 4:23.  I was rolling with the 4 hour pace group through the first half, then I lost it.  I’ve been trying to blame my decline on the heat (77 degrees compared to the average 25 degrees it is in Boston), the lack of scenery (highways and strip malls), and the sparse water stations.  But, I guess the truth of the matter is, I could have trained a bit longer.  I definitely didn’t feel the same joy as I did post Ironman.  So, while I’m tempted to try to get faster, I think I’ll stick to my tris for now.

Regardless of my race performance, it was great to catch up with my good friend Tiffani who completed her first half this weekend…and is now hooked on running!

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

Leave a Reply

