IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Get Psyched Songs

6 Comments

Between all the pacing I’ll be doing as I pack this weekend and all the lonely hours on the road as I drive up to Lake Placid (about 10 hours) on Wednesday, I’ll need some good tunes to keep me going! So, let’s get this song list started! Based on some great mixes from friends for when I trained for the AIDSRide and Kilimanjaro, here’s the starting list for the IMix.

IronMix

  • Eye of the Tiger (Survivor)
  • Start Me Up (Rolling Stones)
  • St. Elmo’s Fire
  • Hella Good (Madona)
  • Rudy Can’t Fail
  • Knock U Out (LL Cool J)
  • Sweet Child o’Mine
  • Get Right (Jlo)
  • Livin’ on a Prayer (Bon Jovi)
  • Gotta Understand (Jurassic 5)
  • Ladyfingers (Luscious Jackson)

What would you add? C’mon, think back to all those bus rides to games, late nights after kickball, or road trips to the beach? My friend just recommended some great mash-ups!

What are your all time favorite psych-up songs?

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

6 thoughts on “Get Psyched Songs

  1. I see some of my Kili mix in there πŸ™‚

    Well let’s see… I like Take me out (Franz Ferdinand) for a run… Brother Lee by Citizen Cope… Mr Brightside (Killers)… Baby Got Back… clearly. Sure Shot (beastie boys)… sometimes some gipsy kings. Granted not necessarily pump up themed, but good beats for running.

    That’s all I got for now πŸ™‚

  2. My favorite pump up songs are:
    ACDC- Shook Me All Night Long
    Michael Jackson- The Way You Make Me Feel
    Britney Spears- Crazy
    Kelly Clarkson- Since U Been Gone
    Bruce Springsteen- Dancing in the Dark
    Janet Jackson- If

  3. Thanks Sarah and Mona! I’m going to set up my playlists tonight! I’m also totally hooked on mashups from “Girl Talk” right now too.

  4. Ha! Hooked on Girl Talk now, eh? Wonder how that happened πŸ™‚

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Girl_Talk_(musician)

  5. AC/DC: Thunderstruck (radical)
    Bananarama: Cruel Summer (niche pick)
    Offspring: Come Out and Play
    Metalica: Enter Sandman
    Scorpions: Rock You Like A Hurricane
    Van Halen: Panama
    G&R: Paradise City
    Green Day: American Idiot
    Beastie Boys: Sabotage
    U2: Vertigo
    The Clash: Rock the Casbah

    I could go on and on… πŸ™‚

    JT

  6. Great list of classics you’ve got here, love it! I’ve been finding lots of pump up songs lately, but I yours the best, short and sweet!

Leave a Reply

