IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Black Bear or Bust!

Leave a comment

Excitement, dread, eagerness, fear…these are all the things I’m feeling as I prepare to head out to my first Half Ironman race this weekend: BLACK BEAR.

The course will be tough! It starts with a pleasant 1.5 mile swim, then a hilly 56 mile bike ride and finishes with a 13 mile hilly run! What am I thinking?
Check out this video of the course!

The race kicks off Sunday at 8 am. My goals are as follow:

  • Have fun in the swim
  • Get my wetsuit off without too much of a struggle
  • Eat well on the bike ride
  • Stay strong on the climbs
  • Don’t worry about poking along
  • Remember to take some advil before the run (my shins have been hurting)
  • Reapply sunscreen
  • Walk if I need to
  • And, if possible, finish before the awards ceremony starts at 3 pm!

I’m excited to have some support at the race too! My buddy Derek is going up with me. And, my friend Jim and his crew will be there racing too!

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

Leave a Reply

