IronWoman

Celebrating 5 years of Ironman participation

Ready to Race!

1 Comment

It’s been about 13 years since I’ve been off a diving block, but Saturday, I ventured out for my first masters swim meet! The meet was held at the U.S. Naval Academy pool in Annapolis, MD. I trekked up with Katie, Erica, Paul and Matias from the DC Tri Club. The pool was huge – a diving well with platform boards, the main pool with 10, 25 yards lanes and a warm up pool with another 8 lanes.

With about 150 swimmers and a starting time of 4:30 pm, I waited on the deck for about 2 hours before my events. I burned through 2 gu gels and a snickers marathon bar in that time. Despite warming up in the side pool, I was still beyond nervous for my first race. I kicked my legs on the diving block in hopes I wouldn’t pee with fright. Then, the horn blew and I was off!

Here are the results:

1. 100 yard free – 1:10, 3 rd place age group!
2. 100 yard breaststroke – 1:27, 3rd place overall!

3. 200 yard free – 2:44, lots of room for improvement

I can’t wait for the next meet!

Author: sarabstro

My name is Sara Strope. I'm hooked on triathlons. I spend my days building a health tech startup, promoting organ donation, and producing events. Oh, and training!

One thought on “Ready to Race!

  1. Wow. Your 100 breast is faster than my 100 free. Feeling very humble right now.

Leave a Reply

